Are bagels vegan?

By : | 0 Comments | On : June 20, 2020 | Category : Vegan blog

Bagel vegan

Veganism is characterized by the avoidance of all products derived from animals or in which animals have been mistreated, whether in food, clothing or cosmetics; the problem is that it is not always clear which foods are vegan, especially baked goods. For example, are bagels vegan? Here’s what we show you.

Are bagels vegan?

Bagels are very popular because they are donut-shaped and available in different flavors, sweet and salty, and you can fill them with a variety of ingredients.

Depending on these ingredients, the bread can be vegan or not. It is best to check the label when buying these products to confirm that they do not contain ingredients such as eggs, butter, cow’s milk, whey, casein or honey. If this is the case, you can accompany all your vegan recipes with a rich, tasty bread without any animal having suffered during its preparation.

Characteristics of Vegan Bread

Here are the ingredients that usually have the vegan bagels:

  • Flour: the most common is wheat because it offers a strong and glutinous dough, giving a dense and chewy texture.
  • Yeast: allows the sugar in the dough to ferment, releasing carbon dioxide and making the dough rise.
  • Salt: helps to harden the gluten strands, regulate the yeast and gives flavour to the bread.
  • Water: is used to create humidity and unite all the ingredients.
  • Sweetener: you can use regular sugar, corn syrup, malt extract, barley malt syrup or molasses.
  • Fat: you can use vegetable oil or lard to improve the crumb of the bread.

Bagel vegan and coffee

Does it have yeast?

This type of bread is made with a yeast dough in the shape of a doughnut; for this, you boil it, dry it and then, to finish, put it in the oven for 1 or 2 hours. It is also important to note that yeast is vegan, since it is not an animal derivative and is both in your body and in the air.

How to tell if your bagel is vegan

To find out if your bread is vegan you have two options; read the label or check that it is vegan certified:

  • Read the label: this is the most recommended option because, in the ingredient list, you can see if your bagel contains eggs, honey, L-cysteine, milk or milk by-products. Also, if you have any doubts, it is best to contact the manufacturer of the brand to try to solve it.
  • Vegan certification: Although not legally regulated and not mandatory, many brands have started to label their products with this certification so you can quickly find out which items are suitable for your lifestyle and which you should quickly discard.

Stuffing of Vegan Bagels

If you have purchased a vegan bread and want to fill it with non-animal products, there are many options you can use today. For example, one of the most common alternatives is vegan cream cheese, made with ingredients such as apple cider vinegar, dairy-free yogurt, coconut oil, nutritional yeast and nuts.

On the other hand, you can also bet on peanut butter, a very common option and that, unless it contains honey, you can acquire without problems because it is a vegan product. Other ingredients that you can fill your vegan bread with are tofu, bananas, avocado, tomatoes and hummus.

Why are there non-vegan bagels?

Traditionally, bread is made with these ingredients, which could indicate that it is a vegan product; however, some recipes include other supplements that are not compatible with veganism:

  • Honey: you can use this supplement instead of sugar or malt.
  • Eggs: can be added to give color and flavor to the bread, and can be used to glaze the bagel and add some shine to the food.
  • Milk: You may see on the ingredient list of some supermarket breads that they are made with milk instead of water.
  • L-cysteine: This amino acid, derived from poultry feathers, is often used to soften dough.
  • Common sugar: some of this element is made with charcoal from animal bones, to remove impurities and produce a whiter product.
  • Mono and diglycerides: these fats are used as an emulsifier and give a greater sponginess to the breads; they are usually soya, although they can be derived from animal fats.
  • Lecithin: like the previous one, it is usually derived from soy; the problem is that, sometimes, it can come from egg yolks.

Coverings

Most of the toppings on traditional bagels are not of vegetable origin; the most common are cream cheese and salmon, both derived from animals. Even so, nowadays you can find a wide variety of cream cheese products without milk.

For this reason, it is advisable to read the list of ingredients of the bagels to confirm that it does not contain any products of animal origin. Similarly, many times the fillings that are made may not be vegan, since they include meat, fish or eggs, among others.

Are bagels vegan?

For example, common choices include cream cheese, sauces such as Dutch or mayonnaise, smoked salmon or ham, among others.

Types of Vegan bagels

Here are the most common types of vegan bread you can find in a supermarket:

  • Daily: the most common bagels or rolls; this is the sourdough bread, made with water, yeast, flour and salt.
  • Basic: they can be made at home with different types of flour and get different flavours and textures.
  • Artisan: as it is made in a traditional way, this type of bread can be created according to your tastes and needs.
  • Focaccia: This is a salty bread from Italy; it also includes other ingredients such as herbs, olive oil, tomatoes, olives or garlic, among others.
  • Baguette: This type of bread is so common, especially in restaurants, is not made with any animal ingredients.
  • Pita bread: this bread from Turkey is made with wheat flour and yeast; it can also be filled with your favorite ingredients.
  • Chapata: This is a flat, elongated bread with a hard crust and a soft crumb, and most versions are vegan.
  • Ezekiel: this bread is obtained from sprouts and, besides being vegan, it is very rich in nutrients and proteins.
  • Kosher: Breads with this certification are characterized by being vegan, since Jewish laws prohibit mixing dairy foods with meat.

How to Make Vegan Stuffed Bread

Don’t supermarket breads convince you? Do you want to make your own vegan stuffed rolls? Here’s all you need to know to create your own recipes.

Ingredients

If you want to make your vegan rolls with fillings these are the ingredients you have to use:

  • 250 grams of vegetable drink.
  • 50 gr of vegetable oil: the most recommended is extra virgin olive oil.
  • 30 gr of sugar.
  • 25 gr of fresh baker’s yeast.
  • 450 gr of flour.
  • 1 pinch of salt.
  • Ingredient for filling: in this case, we are going to use about 150 gr of chocolate without milk; that is, 12 ounces.

Preparation

These are the steps you need to follow to make your vegan rolls so they look delicious:

  1. In a glass, mix the vegetable drink, the oil and the sugar. Heat everything up to a temperature not exceeding 40ºC.
  2. Crumble up the yeast and add it, then shake everything slightly.
  3. Add the flour and salt and mix everything. Then knead it all together to make a smooth and elastic dough; it should not stick to the fingers. It is important that you do not add any more flour, so that the dough does not become hard and the bread does not become hard either.
  4. In a large bowl, put the dough aside and cover it with a handkerchief for about 20 minutes.
  5. Line a rectangular tray with greaseproof paper.
  6. Divide the dough into 12 portions of about 65 – 70 g and make a ball with each portion.
  7. Stretch the balls out into discs about 12 cm in diameter; one side should be smooth.
  8. Put one ounce of chocolate in each disk, on the side that is not smooth.
  9. Join the edges of the disc on the ounce and press them together to seal them; this is very important to avoid possible leaks when the chocolate melts.
  10. Place the rolls on the tray.
  11. Paint the rolls with the vegetable drink and decorate each one with sesame seeds, sliced almonds, pumpkin seeds, poppy seeds, flax seeds or spices. It is best to do this with at least two types of seeds or spices.
  12. Let the rolls rest until they double in volume. The waiting time depends on the ambient temperature; the longer the waiting time, the shorter it is. It is best to put them in a place where there are no sudden changes in temperature or draughts; the average time this process takes is 45 to 60 minutes. On the other hand, if you want to speed up this process, it is best to put them in the oven at 50ºC; in this case, in about 20 – 25 minutes would be the perfect cam.
  13. Preheat the oven to 190ºC.
  14. Bake the rolls for 15 minutes, until they are golden.
  15. Wait for one hour. At that time, the chocolate will still be melted but the bread will already be cold.

Homemade vegan bagels

How to prepare oatmeal and raisin rolls

On the other hand, if you want to make oatmeal and raisin rolls, all you need are these ingredients:

  • 125 grams of oat flakes.
  • 150 ml of water.
  • 30 gr of raisins.
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil.
  • 1 tablespoon of yeast.

To make them, what you have to do is crush the oat flakes until they are like flour and mix them with the yeast in a bowl; then, you have to add water and a teaspoon of oil, until you get a dense dough.

You must add the raisins so that they are distributed throughout the dough. Then you have to let the dough rest for an hour, so that it takes volume; after that time, you have to divide the dough into 6 portions and give it the shape you want your bread to have.

Then you must preheat the oven to 200ºC and put the oatmeal rolls in. After half an hour, take the tray with the rolls out of the oven and wait for them to cool down. Easy, isn’t it? Making your own vegan rolls is much easier than you might think, so don’t wait any longer and make your own.

Vegan bagels Shops

Below we show you the main restaurant and shops chains that have a wide variety of vegan rolls at your disposal:

  • Einstein Bros: most of their bagels are vegan and you can also find a wide variety of products to accompany your bagels. It is also important to note that, since 2019, they have been selling vegan cream cheese.
  • Starbucks: The world’s most popular coffee chain offers a wide variety of choices, including blueberries, raisins and sprouts.
  • Bread Bread: Several types of vegan rolls are available, including blueberry, poppy seed and walnut.
  • Dunkin’ Donuts: also offers several types of vegan bagels. These breads are composed of cinnamon raisin, all, garlic, onion, regular, poppy seed, salt and sesame.
  • Sara Lee: all the breads available in this shop are vegan, except the Soft and Mild varieties.
  • Thomas’ Bagels: Most are vegan and are available in a variety of flavors, including blueberry, cinnamon swirl, cinnamon raisin, all, onion, regular made with whole grain, and 100% whole wheat.

As you have seen, the options for buying and making your vegan bagels are endless, so don’t give up on a product as rich as bagel and start enjoying the best vegan bagels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *